Municipal Code Overview
Documents and Links

Our Municipal Code

The City of Waterville operates under a home-rule charter, adopted by the citizens in 1966, which provides for the Council-Manager form of government. The Municipal Council consists of a separately elected Mayor and six Council members, each elected at-large. The Council is the legislative body for the community.

The Council’s responsibilities include making policy, the adoption of legislation, voting appropriations, and appointing a full-time professional Municipal Administrator. The Administrator serves at the pleasure of the Council and has full responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the City. Additionally, the charter establishes a permanent Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Personnel Board, and Finance Committee, which operate within the local government.

Municipal Building for the City of Waterville